The Governors

The Clare School Governing Body

The Governing Body is responsible for the strategic leadership of the school and has a vital role to play in making sure that every child gets the best possible education. School governors are volunteers, reflecting the diversity of the school, local community and business community. We work together as a Governing Body to collectively oversee the development of The Clare School. Representatives from all backgrounds and varying ages bring different perspectives to the decision-making process, working closely together for the benefit of the school and its pupils.

At The Clare School, our Governing Body comprises 13 governors – 3 parent governors, 2 staff governors, 1 local authority governor, 2 foundation Trust governor and 4 co-opted/community governors. We also have 1 associate governor.

Our current governors are:

Linda Scase-Jones (Parent Governor)

Chair of Governors

Committee: Strategy, Curriculum

Link Area: Whole School Outcomes & Data

Dr Trevor Wang (Foundation Trust Governor)

Vice-Chair of Governors

Committee: Finance, Strategy

Link Area: Outreach/Extended Schools, Health & Safety


Caroline Smith (Parent Governor)

Committee: Personnel, Curriculum

Link Area: Further Education, PSHE

Tina Minns (Parent Governor)

Committee: Personnel

Link Area: Pre-Formal Curriculum, Early Years & Foundation Stage



Judi Holdway (LA Governor)

Committee: Personnel, Strategy

Link Area: Safeguarding, Staff Well-being

Rev Dr Patrick Richmond (Community Governor)

Committee: Finance

Link Area: Spiritual, Moral, Social & Community



Simon Cox (Co-opted Governor)

Committee: Finance

Link Area: Formal Curriculum, Care for Clare

Lisa Henman (Staff Governor)





Emma Collins (Community Governor)



Fyfe Johnston (Staff Governor)


Committee: Finance, Strategy, Personnel and Safeguarding

Link Area: Whole school



Sue Morgan (Foundation Trust Governor)


Link Area: Pupil Personal Care, Sensory Support


Rebecca Wicks (Associate Governor)

Deputy Headteacher

Committee: Curriculum

Link Area: Whole school



Mark Rymarz


Link Area: Pre-Formal Curriculum




The Governing Body has a number of formal committees including:

  • Strategy
  • Finance & Premises
  • Curriculum
  • Personnel


There are also other panels and formal groups that are convened as necessary to ensure the efficient and effective running of the school.

If you are interested in becoming a governor at The Clare School, please contact the Chair of Governors, Linda Scase-Jones via the school office using the email

Please read the latest Governing Body statement below…

Governing Body Annual Statement Letter 2015-2016 

Currently no Governors have declared any pecuniary interests within the school, however one governor has a role on other governing bodies.

Rev. Dr. Patrick Richmond sits on the Governorship of Colman Infant School.